Travel Ban Targets Seven Muslim Countries

The federal government has closed the nation’s borders to refugees from around the world, and temporarily suspended immigration from seven predominantly Muslim countries: Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen. On February 3, 2017, WGBH’s Basic Black discussed the legal and policy implications of the travel ban with Boston City Councilor Tito Jackson; Abdirahman A. Yusuf, Executive Director of the Somali Development Center; Emerson College Professor Kim McLarin; and Iván Espinoza-Madrigal, the Executive Director of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Economic Justice.

The news video is available here: